Cookie

Yesterday my dog died. I just decided to quietly post this without any advertisement to honor its memory. Dogs are loyal to a fault and cookie was the most loyal I have ever known. I remember the first day I met her like it was yesterday. I was in JSS 3, in Ridge Church School and I came back home from school. I believe a driver dropped me at the gate and my mom opened the gate for me. There she was, quite big for her age, very young and innocent. As soon as I bent down to say hello she immediately came to me to smell me and get familiar and that was the moment we became friends. Cookie was full of love and life in her youth, she couldn’t sleep without any of us close by. Even in her older age she used to sleep outside right behind my bedroom. she loved the family, she loved to play. We used to have this chasing game we used to play where I chase her and she runs around a certain plant. I was never able to catch her. I go clockwise, she run clockwise. I go counter-clockwise she did the same. One good thing about this dog was she was so cool tempered. You can take her food away she won’t complain or growl. You can pet her while eating, she’ll keep eating like nothing is wrong. The most amazing thing about this dog is how it had witnessed all the periods of my life. From the time I wrote my BECE, to the time I checked my results and rejoiced to the time I got Achimota to the time I was in the boarding house to the time I completed to the time I got to University of Ghana and moved to Evandy. To the time I finished uni and went to Unilever for my national service, to the days I finished my service & was playing fifa with the boys to my current job as a manager. She was a constant throughout with her welcoming hugs from each place I came back from and it’s going to be very different from now on without her. I touched her for the last time the night before she died. I brought some food from work to give to her. I rarely did that. It was Kenkey and some bones her two favourite foods. She seemed weak but I rubbed her head and I had no idea that was going to be the last time seeing her alive. I never dealt with the death of a close person because all my grandparents died before I could ever get to know them and each uncle or aunt who died wasn’t close to me. This death really hits home. Lol I remember making funny sounds just to see her twist her head in confusion, I remember sitting outside with her resting on my lap, I remember her younger days she used to jump on me whenever I came back home and how she used to love our living room. She always jumped on the couch. It’s life, everything will end someday, let’s take note and enjoy the precious moments. Thanks for the memories,

RIP Cookie. (December 2006 – September 2019)

Leave a comment